The Friday How-2: #words

winter13 122

#Friday, #happy, #blog….

No…I am not tweeting this post.

I am learning another language.  

For you tech heads this post will sound insanely preschool-ish to you, but for the rest of us swimming upstream in a river of social media….you will get my drift.

The hashtag.  A clever means to group ideas, sentiments, adjectives, verbs and even personality traits by using a simple #.  For myself as a parent, I see this as indicative of an entire generation experiencing fragmented and often disconnected means of communicating.  For myself as a blogger-crafter?

Well,  I see a bit of opportunity.

If the hashtag does in fact carry such weight for our young people to use words classify their sense of self and how they see the world….then positive words could go a long way in promoting a valued self image.

Enter The Hash “Tag” .    A little diddy I thought up during one of my sleepless “mom” nights when I lie awake worrying about my children.

Just words on cardstock..a “tag” with a personal element of a handwritten hash mark.  

winter13 121            winter13 125

A tag that boasts many uses:

*bookmark

*wall or cork board decor

*locker decoration

*luggage or backpack tag

*gift tag

This can be a do-it-yourself project easily done with a printer, paper and some ribbon.  

I plan on giving them as gifts to the teens,  pre-teens and even post-teens in my life.  A reminder of the power of words and the specific, wonderful word that I believe can motivate and positively “classify” them.   

winter13 123

Happy “hashtagging” to you all!  

#weekend, #wonderful, #dcb

2 thoughts on “The Friday How-2: #words

Leave a Reply

