DIY Laundry soap

winter13 171

So…I have been wanting to try out recipes for homemade laundry soap for a while now….worried that it would not clean well as my beloved, cost worthy Costco brand….

I think I have come up with a good solution….a DIY laundry soap that works in my HE machine and does the job as good as, if not better than the detergent I am attached to  currently using. 

It is extremely gentle (does not irritate my daughter’s excema), gentle and strong enough for newborn baby clothes, smells glorious…

AND….you can make this for about  3 cents a load!

Recipe & Ingredients:

Ivory Soap bars

Borax detergent

Arm & Hammer Super Washing soap

Lavender essential oil (or fragrance of choice)

You may have seen this recipe using Castile soap, but the Ivory is low sudsing which makes it better for your fancy HE machine.

Directions:  Use one bar of soap per one cup of Borax and Arm & Hammer

Grate your bar of soap (use kitchen grater…I bought one at the dollar store to use just for soap making)

Mix in Borax and Arm & Hammer

Stir for 5 minutes or longer (this breaks up your shreds of soap well)

Add 15 or more drops of essential oil and stir about 2 mintues more.

Use 2 tablespoons of soap per load!

Gift ideas:

Put in to a jar, add ribbon and your own label (mostly for ingredients and directions) and give as a baby gift.

winter13 174

Put with white towels, washi tape covered clothes pins in a basket as a birthday or house warming gift

winter13 175        winter13 178

I added my favorite soap from P.S. I love Soap Company to this basket!

winter13 179

Have fun creating and being squeaky clean!  dcb

 

4 thoughts on “DIY Laundry soap

  1. It doesn’t really matter….I used the larger holes because the grating goes much quicker that way. Note that you will have some “bits” of soap in your final product.

  2. Thank you for posting this! I have wanted to try this for a while, but wasn’t sure how well it would work in a HE machine. I love the way homemade laundry soap cleans! I’m off to the store to pick up my supplies…

Leave a Reply

