Upcycle clothing tags and button envelopes

spring13 001
A good Tuesday to you….

I’m not sure about you, but it is very hard for me to throw away the often large and decorated little button envelopes that come with a new piece of clothing.   I have had a growing collection of the little beauties until recently when I began upcycling them to use on my hand made cards.

And those high end tags!  The “now-I-know-why-this-was-so-expensive” tags….

Nope.

Can’t throw those away either.  

My Montana gal pal,  Lesliann, knows this about me and often sends me extra tags from the boutique she works in…and I love her for it….

So…don’t throw those tags and envelopes away!  Here are just a few upcycling ideas!

Scrapbooking:

Use the button envelope to:

*a place to put special momentos on your page

* Baby’s first tooth, or lock of hair

* Ticket stubs from a memorable event

spring13 003

Labels/Tags

*Backpack, luggage, lunchbox, sportbag tags for your kiddos

Buy the metal fasteners at your local hobby store (in the leather making section). Usually they cost around $2.00 for a pack of 50.  I would laminate any tags used for luggage to make them wear better and last longer!  I used a regular label maker to print out the label to cover the brand name on the tag.

spring13 004

Card Making:

*Cut off brand name and embellish to use on front of a card

*Use button envelope to hold gift card or money and affix to the front of a card

*Decorate the outside of button envelope and stick a special note inside.  Tuck in your husband’s briefcase/sportbag or in your child’s lunch box.

*Cover the brand name of a tag with stickers, stamp, and affix to the front of a card

spring13 007

spring13 006

spring13 008

The possibilities are endless!

Don’t hold out on me if you have more ideas!  And, if you have tags/envelopes you don’t want to upcycle….don’t THROW THEM AWAY!  I will make sure and find a good home for them.

Happy Day.   –dcb

11 thoughts on “Upcycle clothing tags and button envelopes

Leave a Reply

